Would you like to join the Friends of Dunstable Cemetery as a volunteer?

Dunstable Cemetery is a Green Flag Award Winning Cemetery which was first open to public burials in 1861. The Cemetery has grown over the years and has a rich history. The older part of the cemetery is the last resting place of some notable local people along with some beautiful old memorial stones as well as a wide variety of wildlife including over 25 species of birds.

A new friends group for Dunstable Cemetery has recently been established and membership is now beginning to grow. The friends are a small but friendly group of people who enjoy coming together for volunteer work days. In future the group would like to fundraise to repair some of the older memorials and research and share some of the life and family stories of those buried in the cemetery.

Membership is free, so if you would like to get involved and become a Friend of Dunstable Cemetery or just find out more about the group please contact Mary Dobbs, Cemetery Manager on 01582 891428 or email cemetery@dunstable.gov.uk

Please keep an eye out for any activity days below!

Forthcoming dates for meetings are as follows:

General meetings 1.30 pm to 3.00 pm
Friday 24th January 2020
Friday 13th March 2020
Friday 1st May 2020

Tidy up meetings 1.00 pm to 3.00 pm

Tuesday 28th January 2020
Friday 14th February 2020
Tuesday 25th February 2020
Tuesday 10th March 2020
Friday 27th March 2020
Wednesday 8th April 2020

Saturday 25th April 2020 10.00 am to 12.00 noon *Invite family and friends*

Please feel free to help at any meeting. You will be made most welcome.